Difference between revisions of "Library Server Sync"

From JRiverWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
(What Is Not Synced)
Line 28: Line 28:
 
===What Is Not Synced===
 
===What Is Not Synced===
 
* View customization (columns, sorting, adding / removing views)
 
* View customization (columns, sorting, adding / removing views)
* Playlist deletion
 
 
* Options changes (each client maintains its own options)
 
* Options changes (each client maintains its own options)
  
 
[[Category: Media Network]]
 
[[Category: Media Network]]

Revision as of 15:40, 24 August 2019

Media Center's client / server system, called Library Server supports the bidirectional flow of changes. This means that the program can be configured so that changes made on the server will flow to any client, and changes made on a client will flow back to the server and out to other clients.

The system is built around the idea of a sync where changes made on the client are submitted to the server and changes made on the server or other clients is returned.

Setup

First, you need a Library Server configured with one or more connected clients.

Next, since it is possible for a client to delete files from the server, authentication is required to use Library Server Sync. Enable authentication on the server in Options > Media Network > Authentication.

Automatic Sync

The easiest way to use Library Server Sync is to enable automatic syncing of changes. This will sync every few minutes in a low priority background thread. There will be very little network activity if no changes are being made.

To enable automatic sync, on the client enable Options > Media Network > Client Options > Auto sync with server.

Manual Sync

You can also manually sync changes from a client and get changes on the server manually. To perform a manual sync, on the client from the main program menu, select File > Library > Sync Changes with Library Server.

What Is Synced

  • File value changes (artists, keywords, playback statistics, etc.)
  • File deletes
  • File adds (server adds always go to clients, client adds go to server if the server can reach the file)
  • Playlist additions
  • Playlist changes
  • Television recording schedule

What Is Not Synced

  • View customization (columns, sorting, adding / removing views)
  • Options changes (each client maintains its own options)